Home > All About ME, What's in my head now? > In one of THOSE Moods

In one of THOSE Moods


I love quotes. Always have. Some people kept journals their whole lives – not me; anytime something good or bad or sometimes when nothing happened and I was just feeling…an unexplainable feeling….I would look up quotes. And I realized – this did 3 things for me; 1) It was a release; a way of venting – cathartic 2) I was journaling…using other people’s words. I can look at a quote today and think of exactly where I was and what I was doing when I first wrote down the quote…my history is written in them. 3) quotes made me feel better about how I was feeling. It was and is comforting to know that people feel the exact same way you do…even when you think you’re going mad. You see others felt it and got through it – and you know you will as well.

So this morning, I’m feeling a bit off – not good, not bad, just aching for some inspiration really – and I pulled out my quote books and realized I was done with quotes; I could write and journal on my own now…but what I also found while online journaling was this picture. It was a graffiti picture of a quote and I thought, “wow – now that’s badass”. So I thought I’d share a few. Enjoy and apologies for not being my usual ‘ business’ thought. This is just ME.

  1. May 12, 2011 at 1:10 pm

    I don’t follow such things, but I can only conclude the planets are aligned in some really rotten fashion. I had an absolutely infuriating day yesterday, where a new client ripped something to shreds that I was confident was damn near perfect and delivered EXACTLY what she’d asked for.

    I’m calmed down now, but at 4 p.m. yesterday I was about as mad and frustrated as I ever get. Your quotes may be bad-ass, but ironically enough they offer some much-needed serenity — thank you for that.

  2. May 12, 2011 at 1:40 pm

    Aw Jake. Hope you are feeling better! Damn clients! You’re really making me think about the difference in “clients” and “partners” ( ; Hoping our serenity is catching!

  3. May 13, 2011 at 8:18 am

    OK, so here’s the follow up. The original plan was to have the client sign off on the text before doing any design work, but there was one phrase in the feedback — “it just kind of looks like a big block of text” — that made me realize the client is too visually oriented to make the leap from a Word doc. I did a few minor edits to shorten things up, my graphic design partner put it in a sample layout…and we crossed our fingers & sent it back to the client.

    The text was almost exactly what we presented the first time. This time, with a stock photo, colorful headlines, and two-column format, she loved it. It was like she’d never seen it before!

    Anyway, you’re right about the client-partner distinction, and it takes time and trust to move someone along the “client-to-partner” continuum. This particular client-not-yet-partner is a huge, bureaucratic Fortune 500 company, so it’s going to take some time and effort, but will be lucrative if it works out.

  4. May 26, 2011 at 3:19 pm

    I’m with you! Quotes inspire me like nothing else. I think we all read into them what we need to see (read) at that moment, but no matter. They speak to us. The quote currently pegged above my computer screen is this:

    “Whatever you think you can do, or believe you can do, Begin it! For in action there is magic, grace and power.” – Goethe

    Hope it inspires you today!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

