Home > Building Business Relationships, Building PEOPLE Relationships, Sales and Marketing in 2010 > Social Media as a “Closing” Tool for Deal Makers

Social Media as a “Closing” Tool for Deal Makers


I’m a Facebook Stalker. 10 years ago, pre Facebook, some called me a “yenta”; I called myself a ‘fact finder’. In these times, we are all “Facebook Stalkers” to some extent; but the question you should ask yourself is WHY are you a FB stalker?

I use FB, Twitter, and Linkedin for several reasons but namely, I use them to find the “most efficient” way to close a deal. Business people constantly talk about the power of “LinkedIn”; I think FB is more powerful. What are the best sales executives good at? Closing deals. Why are they best at closing deals? Most will answer, “I can build rapport and build it quickly”.

So, how does FB play into this? Very simple; you connect with potential strategic partners, current and / or future customers and colleagues; and with those connections comes your “in”. You can review their interests, favorite books, movies, etc. and in conversation – you can bring them up. Perhaps you’ve read the same book or like the same movie or sports team.

You can look at their photos and see what’s important to them and / or what they do in their spare time. I recently closed a client who had the same type of dog as I did. She was “lukewarm” if I had to gauge her interest the first time we met. Then I connected to her on FB; saw that her profile pic was of her and her dog. I changed my profile pic to one of me and my dog. I wrote a note on her wall saying, “Looks like we have the same type of dog – what’s yours named?” Not only did we continue our conversation online, but she got back to me and invited me to fly out and meet with her executive team. The deal is closed.

  1. December 7, 2010 at 3:06 pm

    Nuts, this is often what I find myself using Facebook for. I recently “Facebook Stalked” a new hire in order to make their transition into the company as seamless and friendly as possible. Guess I’m a “Facebook Stalker” too!

  2. December 8, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favour”.I am looking for ways to add things to my blog!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

  3. December 9, 2010 at 11:05 am

    It’s pretty startling how much social media has changed our ability to harvest personal and influential data with very little effort. I’m not that old, but old enough to remember when you had to look around someone’s office and see what kinds of chotchkes they had on their shelves and on the walls. Photo of CEO posing with foursome = “Oh, so what’s the best golf course you ever played?”

  4. sex
    December 23, 2010 at 1:06 pm

    Wonderful blog! I definitely love how it’s easy on my eyes and also the data are well written. I am wondering how I might be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which need to do the trick! Have a nice day!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

