Home > All About ME, Uncategorized, What's in my head now? > I’ve Turned Into My Parents!

I’ve Turned Into My Parents!


It’s happened. After all the years of hard work thinking I would become different than my parents; I’m the same. And this is the happiest I’ve ever been in my life; so I guess they had something going!

I grew up watching my father own his own retail business and watching my mother own her own speech business; everything she did was contract work. With a father who owns a retail business, you can imagine – retail businesses fluctuate with the economy…so our lives fluctuated with the economy as well. As soon as I was out of college and working in “Corporate America”, I always said…”I will never own my own business”. I LOVED the security of that paycheck. I loved planning in advance how I would budget and what I would do with my money. This was a sense of security and independence I’d never known before and I was NOT giving it up. As I said, “I would never own my own business”.

My mother always saw 7 or 8 patients / day (speech pathologist working in home health) and I didn’t realize until I was older (over the past couple years) what a fantastic job she had. She made great money per hour / per patient (Has her Masters and is well known in the field) AND she could work her own schedule. From ages 21-27 while I was in corporate America, I always “assumed” I would be one of the women who brought their child (or whose husband brought the child) to daycare around 8 or 9 am…and then would pick up the child around 5 or 6 PM. This was “the plan”. As I starting working more and working with more “working mothers”, my ideologies began changing. All they did all day was look forward to spending time with their child. They “worked” literally for their children or so they could pay daycare; I didn’t think this would “work” for me.

So now, almost 30 years old…what am I? I’m a business owner who contracts and consults on an hourly basis. I make my own schedule; and have times when I’m CRAZY busy and have times when I’m bored (not many yet, but there will be). What have I become? I’ve become my parents. A combination of / the best parts of both of them.

I don’t have a child yet, but like my mother – I want to be at every after school sporting event and be able to schedule days off without having to worry about “the number of sick days”. Like my father, I don’t want anyone else taking a percentage of my money or telling me what to do and when to do it.

So – while it’s taken me almost 30 years to admit it, I guess they got it right; and I’m going to be just like them.

  1. May 19, 2010 at 6:27 am

    There is nothing wrong with inheriting a good work ethic and having your own business.

    Make that child soon while you physically can.

    Why did you not want to be like you parents?

    • May 19, 2010 at 6:39 am

      Great question and I can’t believe I didn’t answer it in the blog (probably because I knew my parents would read it!). Growing up, I had a very comfortable life. I don’t remember a time I did not get what I wanted (within reason) provided that I ‘worked’ for it. That said, I was also ‘smart’ enough to see how stressed my parents became over money at certain times. As I stated, retail businesses go up and down with the economy; so it was normal to be “banking” and living the good life for 5 years…and then watching my parents have to change their habits quickly when the economy changed…they worked harder and sometimes brought home a lot less money. My entire life, the only thing I ever heard my parents argue about was money. As I got into “Corporate America” and felt the safety net of that bi-weekly paycheck, I thought that was fantastic; always having a check, knowing when you’d be paid, etc. Much less stressful.

      What I’ve realized / what I’ve done a bit differently is attempted to live “the same” life whether I’m making alot of money or a little. I’ve got a 401K and a savings portfolio. The “trick” will be staying disciplined with this once we do have children, so that is where my focus will be.

      As for having kids…I’m not even 30 yet ( ; I think I have a couple more years ahead of me, but I’m sure my mother will thank you for your advice!!!

  2. nannette lem
    May 20, 2010 at 5:41 am

    your young you see what you mom went through being a child of older parents you had great granparents let your parents have this honor. vthey will be great gand parents your mom will be a bubby what a grat title for her
    love you

  3. June 22, 2010 at 5:05 am

    really terrible article you give, I really liked it. awaited continuation next article.

    Dog Crates and Dog Kennels Store 10:05

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

