Home > All About ME, innovation, Uncategorized, What's in my head now? > 10 Days in Europe: No “Work”, But Much To Learn – Any Suggestions?

10 Days in Europe: No “Work”, But Much To Learn – Any Suggestions?


I leave today for Europe for 10 days. No sales, no marketing, no business. Ok, who am I kidding? I will definitely be on the computer a couple times the first few days I’m in Barcelona and on the 11 hour flight, but WILL NOT be on during the Mediterranean cruise.

I’ve realized over the past several months that it’s not only “work” or “driving revenue” that I love, but more so, it’s learning. Learning different ways to work with people, different ways to make money, creative / outside of the box / innovative ways to market on the internet that has not been done before.

I take this zest for learning and bring it with me to Europe. I’m certainly interested in the history, the sites, and the cultures. While I’ve been before, that was 8 years ago and I’m guessing my view will be a bit different now.

I look forward to immersing myself in the culture to really ‘see’ how the global marketplace responds to different types of online advertising. I’m interested to hear how many folks in different areas are using social networks. I’m looking forward to bringing back new / different ideas that I pick up that have not yet been executed on in the United States.

I’ll be in Madrid, Barcelona, Sorrento / Naples, Rome, FLorence, Nice, Cannes, and Monte Carlo.

If anyone has suggestions for sights, I’m all ears…if anyone has suggestions for areas I can learn about the culture and possibly the global economy, I’m all ears. Please feel free to comment or shoot me an email.

  1. April 29, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Have a wonderful time!

    We have been on an open-ended, non-stop world tour since 2006, trailblazing a new way of being as a digital nomad family. We’ve spent extended time in all the places you mentioned & have written about them on our award winning website, http://www.soultravelers3.com and you might also like our soultravelers3 Youtube channel for tips and suggestions.

    I don’t think 10 days is nearly enough time to immerse, we have been on 4 continents but primarily in Europe for the last 4 years and feel we have barely made a dent, despite having experienced much more of Europe than even most Europeans.

    Relax. It makes more sense on your time frame to just use that time to enjoy your vacation. It’s hard to know or understand the real Europe on a short tour or cruise.

    My best suggestion? Get far away from the maddening tourist crowds…in order to get a peek at what is real and learn some of the languages before you go.

    • April 29, 2010 at 2:40 pm

      Thanks! I wish we had more than 10 days, but we both work…a lot…I was lucky enough to live abroad for 6 months (as well as traveled extensively); I know I can’t get ‘immersed’, but I would like to speak with people to see how different Europe is now versus 7 years ago. It’s funny when I think about it; 7 years ago I was sending out mass emails from my AOL account ( ; there were no popular social networks…I couldn’t post pictures…most of my pictures weren’t even digital! Crazy.

  2. April 29, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    Enjoy your trip, all places you mention above are wonderful, people there will be your first source for information. I love Italy, but my dream is to visit Spain! So much to see…. so much to learn…looking forward for your posts and updates from Europe.

  3. April 29, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    Hey Jamie,
    let me know when you are in Barcelona if you need a really cool tapas bar with some Brazen talk in Europe. Twitter me @valedeoro.es or follow me to send me a private message (just followed you 😉 )
    Val

  4. Stacey
    April 30, 2010 at 9:16 am

    Everything you write resonates with me incredibly. I, too, crave learning and new ways of seeing an idea…I look forward to hearing more about your journey.

  5. May 28, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    Nice work buddy! Some of these are classics!

  1. April 29, 2010 at 4:40 pm

Leave a Reply

