Home > Uncategorized > Why Am I BACK In School????

Why Am I BACK In School????


I’ve spent the past eight years promoting higher education, specifically higher education online; during which time I had gotten certified in project management and taken a few graduate level business courses. I had originally taken online courses so I would “know what I was selling and marketing”. I’ve been vacillating for the past few years about going back to school online to get certified in six sigma, but never “just did it”….until last week.

Last week I enrolled for Villanova’s Online Six Sigma program through University Alliance (some of you may know as Bisk Education). Having worked in this industry for years, I liked the quality of their program, their delivery method, LMS, and they had a great admissions representative; Pricing was definitely fair, books included, etc.

I received my books on Monday and almost had a heart attack. I’ve spent my career ensuring students do not only enroll. but more importantly START and GRADUATE from their online university…Students have always called or emailed the first day of classes or after they receive their books wanting to DROP and I have always calmed them down. Well, it was time for ME to calm down. I went back to my first year in “admissions” and pulled out an old email I used to send students that said, “Don’t freak out! You’re going to be nervous to go back to school; you’re supposed to be. Everyone is feeling the same thing”. I didn’t 100% feel better, but a little bit.

Now that I’ve taken the time to peruse the six sigma book(s), it’s actually not bad…and the ‘words’ and ‘language’ that had intimidated me on my first day were all abbreviations for something I already knew (or knew how to do). It was interesting though – having the same feeling I’ve been talking students out of having for years.

Everything comes full circle, right?

  1. Michael Dvorscak
    April 21, 2010 at 4:09 pm

    What do you intend to do with your soon to be newly acquired knowledge?

    • April 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

      Good question; the more I go through this book / the work, the more I realize I already employ most of these techniques; just call them different names. I guess I’ll find out when I get further into the course. My reason for taking it was because my resume speaks solely about “how much revenue” I’ve driven; and in some areas how much I’ve increased OI…however, as I do not have an ‘operations’ or ‘PM’ title anywhere, I don’t have a specific section to show how I’ve saved on costs, enriched process flows, etc. so I’m basically getting a piece of paper that ‘certifies’ I can do that. Also – I’m kind of a nerd and I like to learn different theories, so…

  2. April 21, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Now you can even more effectively relate to them.

  3. April 24, 2010 at 5:41 am

    I love the fact that you have gone back to school after so long. My goal is to do the same. What a great accomplishment and also a great way to relate to them as @Ty said.

    Good luck!

  4. April 30, 2010 at 2:31 am

    wow amazing story bro.

  5. May 18, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    I was researching this before my afternoon class and found your blog. Just what I was looking for. Great information and timely. Thank you so much 🙂

    • May 18, 2010 at 8:38 pm

      Thank you for commenting. I’m in school now and took my first tests; nowhere near as bad as I thought!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

