Home > Sales and Marketing in 2010, Uncategorized, What's in my head now? > I don’t have a job…NOW WHAT?!?!

I don’t have a job…NOW WHAT?!?!


Boo Hoo. You’re out of a job. You and every one of your 9 friends. We’re all out of jobs, or we’re working for less money, or we’re not getting paid what we’re worth…or the company has cut out our spouses or our parents. Rest assured, we all know someone, most of us – someones – who have been affected by the lack of business or ‘recession’. So, when it happens to you, what will you do?

1. Most importantly; CHECK YOUR EGO AT THE DOOR

I don’t care if you’ve been a Vice President for 15 years; it’s time to work your way up again. If you were a great vice president, as good as you thought, then the jobs would have been poring in from your competitors as soon as other businesses knew you were out of work. If that didn’t happen, then it’s time to get back on the ground floor of a company and do something differently this time.

Most people look at our economy as a ‘mess’ right now; and sure, there are situations that suck and everyone’s is different. But, there is only one thing you can control; YOU – and the attitude you have. A great mentor told me, “everything is purposeful” and it is. If you look back to the hardest things you’ve gotten over in life, you’ll realize these are the times you built character.

If you need money; don’t wait for the perfect job. Check your ego at the door, take what comes your way FOR NOW while you continue to apply for other jobs.

2. SELL, SELL, SELL

If there is one skill set that will always prove useful in the business arena, that is being a salesperson. If you have experience in sales, go SELL. And don’t just sell anything. Find something you believe in and KILL IT. Be the top producer. And if you’ve never sold before, no better time to get into a large corporation where they will TRAIN you to sell. Once you can sell and market, you can work in any arena. And, if you’re good, you’ll move up quickly; especially if you have solid management experience in your past. While some businesses are slowing down, a couple of sectors have doubled in size. Advice: Get into higher education sales. The market is booming AND if you believe in education, you can sell it. The training programs at the for profit institutions are unmatched as are the opportunities for advancement. Just look at the 2 largest IPOs of the past two years; education stocks.

3. Relish the opportunity

Those who are most successful in this world have 2 things in common: 1) They know what they’re passionate about and have found a way to work with their passion. 2) They are lifelong learners. Take the time you have off to find where your passion is and GO FOR IT. Find a way to market your passion. While you’re researching your passion; learn about it and learn how others have been successful in the field you’re passionate about. This is an opportunity for YOU to find YOU. I want to go say “Thank You” to my last company as these past three months consulting have been the best I’ve ever had. It’s not only one consistent learning experience, but I choose what I do…and I only do what I’m passionate about.

4. Consult!

Employers have had to cut costs and staff across most companies and in doing so are short handed from a resource perspective. If you have been an executive or an expert in your industry, reach out to prior contacts and offer to consult for them. Consulting is much better for an employer than a FTE. No benefits to pay, so the employer is saving about 20% by hiring you over a FTE. Don’t be afraid to put yourself out there; the worst your going to here is “no”; and who cares about rejection; it’s part of our everyday life.

5. Take inventory of yourself

Compare yourself to people in your position who have not lost their jobs. Compare your resume to the ‘job qualifications’ of the jobs you would like. What’s the difference? Is there anything missing? Many times these days it’s education. Use this opportunity to go back to school. I’m actually going back to get my six sigma certification. Can I afford it? Nope. But moreso, I can’t afford NOT to do it. In my area, most people have their Masters or MBA. I don’t. However, I also know myself; and I want to ensure I can be disciplined enough to work at home and go to school online; so, before jumping into a $25,000 program, I’ll take something I know will help me on my resume, something that job seekers are looking for, and something that will help me to “stand out” from the crowd.

Net / Net:
You can sit home depressed and collect unemployment; OR you can do something. I’ve decided to do something…well, some things….what will you do?

  1. April 13, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I own my own company… Good times or bad I am always looking for jobs. Maybe I’ve gotten really good at finding the business, but the things I know are these:

    1. You must be good at what you do… Really good all the time no matter what. Don’t sit back when the money is rolling in and think that things are great. Always learn, always re-visit your processes and for gods sake live lean… Run your business lean and make all actions matter. It’s like staying thin in a good relationship.. It takes work.

    2. Be consistent

    3. Always be selling. No matter where you go no matter who you talk to get something in there about what you do. Make it known what you do, or what you are good at. Chances are if you tell enough people you will find an opportunity, or it will find you…. But don’t wait for it to find you.. And don’t wait for people to say yes, go to the next one.

    4. Be the authority

    I have a million more, but what it’s really about is work hard at working. I don’t feel bad when people ask me how my business is doing and I tell them great. I’ve worked my ass off at making sure I am ready for whatever situation comes at me. Recession… What recession???

    • April 13, 2010 at 5:53 pm

      After reading your post, I went strait to your website (as it sounds like we have a lot in common; no tolerance for BS) and can see why you’re successful. Great site and DIFFERENT / certainly something I will remember as well as recommend. Hoping we work together in the future.

  2. April 13, 2010 at 8:41 pm

    I’ve started my own business as a freelance editor and journalist. It’s hard, it’s taking time to build it up but I enjoy it. 😀

  3. Naja
    April 21, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I really don’t know if I agree with this article. I can’t pay all of my bills by checking my “ego at the door”. $8.75 per hour is not going to help pay off student loans, car note and rent.

    • April 21, 2010 at 3:13 pm

      This is a good point, Naja; thank you. Just a heads up if you don’t know – you can defer your student loans or put them in forbearance. That may help…

      You’re right in that “checking your ego at the door” doesn’t solve everything and if you’re making $8.75 an hour, you may need more; however, this may also be a good time for you to look at new industries or other industries where perhaps you can make the same money per hour and (for example) also make commission / better your sales skills, etc.

  4. April 22, 2010 at 11:01 pm

    I graduated last summer in 2009, did a bit of the traveling thing and found myself plonked back down to earth which was a bit of a reality check. Jobless I might add.

    The last point really got me thinking, ‘how can I make myself stand out’?
    As a Biology graduate I always knew I wanted to be involved in science somehow, either helping the world as a whole or something more applied. For the last few years I’ve wanted to work in IVF as a clinical embryologist, it’s only over the past 6 months I’ve really wanted to run with the idea and make it a reality, I was also considering research but this has now taken a backseat as Plan B.

    Now training programs are normally only open at specific times of year. So I’ve taken it upon myself in the meantime to really read up on IVF techniques to ‘get ahead’ and I’ve also been arranging work experience at a variety of hospitals (most turned me down, had no room, no resources) but one fertility lab gave me a very positive message the other day. To get this experience would be invaluable. Give me much to talk about in interviews and help me prove that I can cope in this environment.

    I had to wait for 3 months in the UK to get my work permit in Canada, even though I was living with my parents in rural middle of nowhere I did much informal reading on repro biology. I’m always on the look out for courses and classes to fine-tune my strengths and proof of transferable skills.

    You’re right. In this economic climate you can either sit there unemployed and do nothing or get up and improve yourself and your job prospects.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

