Home > Building Business Relationships, Building PEOPLE Relationships, Sales and Marketing in 2010, Uncategorized > “People Don’t Leave Companies, They Leave Managers”

“People Don’t Leave Companies, They Leave Managers”


Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

One of the best businessmen of this decade, Brian Kibby, is someone I follow on Twitter and get great quick snippets of advice from. A couple days ago, he tweeted, “People leave managers; they don’t leave companies. When a great employee walks out the door, they are leaving you! No excuses. Fix yourself.”

Are you the type of manager who can check your ego at the door and when someone resigns, ask yourself the question above?

I had another great mentor, Richard Capezzali, who said to me when I was 24 years old, “Firing people is a bad thing. It is always the manager’s fault. It means that you’ve either done a bad job hiring the sales person, training them, or managing them. Before you fire someone, you better be able to look in the mirror and say to yourself, ‘I did everything in my power to save that person’s job.'”

What both of these businessmen are saying is that whether someone resigns or is terminate, the only way for you as a manager to learn and grow from the experience is to look at each as a learning experience. Each time I have lost an employee, I have done and / or thought the following:

1. Talked to them myself (do not make HR do your dirty work!)
2. Ask for feedback – what could you have done better in your job? People may not want to talk to you F2F, but this is what an “exit interview” is for.
3. Don’t ever be ‘proud’ of yourself for firing someone. I have met some managers that are PROUD to say, “i’ve fired 1000s of people, this is no big deal”
4. It IS a big deal for someone to walk away from your company. If you look at each of your employees like a commodity, add up how much revenue they will have driven that year. See how many MORE commodities you will have to hire to make up for what you’ve lost.
5. It is also a big deal to fire someone. You are changing a life. You are in a position of control. Don’t abuse that position…remember, you have to look at yourself in the mirror every night.

Hoping I could pass on two snippets of wisdom I have been given to young managers.

  1. sadya
    April 10, 2010 at 1:12 am

    good stuff and pretty relevant for me considering that just a few minutes ago my assistant put forth a request to fire someone in his unit. but it is true , people dont leave their jobs they leave their bosses…

  2. April 24, 2010 at 5:32 am

    I bookmarked this post to make sure that I would come back to read it. Once I saw the subject I knew that this was a read that would hit home to me.

    From someone who has left their job because of their manager to also having my staff leave after I have left a company because of the management that had replaced me…this post couldn’t be more true.

    Great read and hopefully it will be a focus of managers out there that don’t realize the real problem is them.

  3. September 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    People Leave Companies, They Don’t Leave Managers…for sure!!! Managers for all practical purposes “culturally” inculcate the values from their leaders governing and representing the company.

  4. theot
    August 12, 2011 at 9:45 am

    Wow, this made me feel better about my dismissal. Completely nothing was done to save my job, my boss just waited for a single mistake, and then fired me in the spot. And it wasn’t a really big mistake, because I had already discussed about delaying the project deadline for two days. But when they fired me, they said they didn’t know about this new deadline, and they didn’t care. But my manager just wanted to feel the power, so she wanted to fire someone to feel that type of control over other people’s lives.

  1. June 1, 2010 at 8:08 pm
  2. April 19, 2011 at 2:54 am
  3. June 4, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 63 other followers

